Naughty Dog’s New Leadership

Co-President Neil Druckmann Shares an Update on Naughty Dog’s New Studio Leadership Team by Neil Druckmann

With the announcement that Evan Wells is retiring at the end of 2024, Neil made some new leadership announcements. Here’s the breakdown of the top dogs for 2024:

  • Neil Druckmann – President and Head of Creative
  • Alison Mori – Studio Manager and Head of Operations
  • Arne Meyer – Head of Culture and Communications
  • Christian Gyrling – Head of Technology
  • Erick Pangilinan – Co-Head of Art Departments
  • Jeremy Yates – Co-Head of Art Departments
  • Anthony Newman – Head of Production and Design

These are all long-time dogs and logical bumps up in management. Almost all of these people have been with Naughty Dog for 15+ years.

The biggest takeaway for me is Anthony Newman’s new role. Anthony was co-director on The Last of Us Part II and was (still is?) the co-director1 on the Factions multiplayer game that recently got delayed. It makes me wonder what the energy and development is like over there on their two or three projects. Interesting times at the studio, to be sure, but I feel it is safe to say that the team is in good hands.

1. Alongside Vinit Agarwal, who is a superb Factions player. This pair and their attention to detail in gameplay is a match made in heaven. Although, it just seems the game is not a match for longterm engagement and revenue.